

Argentine Association for Surgery of the Hand

BRIEF HISTORY OF THE ARGENTINE ASSOCIATION FOR SURGERY OF THE HAND AND RECONSTRUCTIVE SURGERY OF THE UPPER LIMB

The Argentine Association for Surgery of the Hand (AACM) was founded in 1974. It has 200 active and certified members and 225 adherent members. Every year, the AACM organises two main scientific events: an Updating Course and a National Congress. The association is also in charge of the development of the surgery of the hand throughout Argentina by means of Regional Courses, theoretical and practical courses of pathologies related to the field, clinical meetings and the Course of Specialization in Hand Surgery together with the University of Business and Social Science. Applicants from all over the continent attend this Course.

Prof. Dr. Eduardo Alfredo Zancolli, a pioneer in hand surgery in our country, was the first President of the AACM, he was also the first President of the South American Federation for Surgery of the Hand (FSCM) and he was the Honorary President of the 2016 IFSSH Meeting. The First Committee was constituted: President: Dr. Eduardo A. ZANCOLLI, Vice President: Dr. Carlos A. N. FIRPO, Secretary: Dr. Héctor Jorge MITRE, Treasurer: Dr. Guillermo LODA, Director of Publications: Dr. Bartolomé ALLENDE, Member: Dr. Manuel SANGUINETTI; the other founding members were N. MAQUIEIRA, G. DABBAH, R. WHITE, F. APONTE ARRAZOLA, A. ILARRAMENDI.

We are also active member of the South American Federation for Surgery of the Hand (FSCM) that was founded in Lima, Peru, in 1965. It gathers active members from also from, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Uruguay and Venezuela, accredited by the IFSSH. Likewise Bolivia, Ecuador, Paraguay and Peru have members in the FSCM. The FSCM organizes every year an International Course and Congress, alternately, in different countries venues.

Knowledge enhancement based on anatomy has characterized Argentina and many of the scientific works generated in this country and South America are consulted internationally.

The main purpose of both associations is stated in their Bylaws "... it will function to spread and enhance hand surgery, establishing scientific relationships with similar entities and specialists in Argentina, South America and the rest of the world."

A clear example of the level developed by both organizations is the last Argentine and South American Congress held in Buenos Aires, Argentina, October 2017 attended by more than 600 participants.

Also in 2014, concomitantly with the 40th Anniversary of the AACM Creation, the 40th Argentine Congress and the 5th Argentine-Chilean Congress of Hand Surgery were held including a complete Pre-Congress Meeting organized by the AAHS with Members Participants from both organizations. This Congress, with more than 700 participants set a new record of attendance at a national level.

The scientific background and experience of the AACM in organising national and regional congresses provide the necessary guaranted to host and organised the IFSSH World Congress in Buenos Aires 2016. The AACM contributes to the work of the International Federation of spreading its geographical presence and defending the balance and democratization when it comes to choosing the host city of the most important event in the world in the field for Surgery of the Hand.

The annual position of AACM president is elected by the majority during the voting by the Active Members in the Ordinary Assembly. The following medical doctors were presidents since 1975 until today:

2015 Gabriel CLEMBOSKY2016 Fernando MENVIELLE2017 Cecilio ARGAÑARAZ

itii todo	.,,.
1975	Eduardo A. ZANCOLLI
1976	Carlos A. N. FIRPO
1977	Héctor J MITRE
1978	Guillermo DABBAH
1979	Aldo ILLARRAMENDI
1980	Guillermo LODA
1981	Roque BLANCO
1982	Néstor MAQUIEIRA
1983	Manuel SANGUINETTI
1984	Fredy APONTE ARRAZOLA
1985	Enrique PENER
1986	Alberto SANGUINETTI
1987	Bartolomé ALLENDE
1988	Hugo CALOIA
1989	Luciano POITEVIN
1990	Roberto LIMA
1991	Carlos MILLER
1992	Eduardo R. ZANCOLLI
1993	Alberto GARAY
1994	Mario RODRÍGUEZ SAMMARTINO
1995	José María ROTELLA
1996	Alberto GAMARNIK
1997	Rodolfo COSENTINO
1998	Santiago FAZZINI
1999	Miguel SLULLITEL
2000	Roque NIGRO
2001	Juan Carlos TORRANO
2002	Gustavo ARCHAIN
2003	Carlos ZAIDENBERG
2004	Heraldo ROSINI
2005	Alejandro RAMOS VERTIZ
2006	Juan Carlos CAGNONE
2007	Miguel CAPOMASSI
2008	Pablo DE CARLI
2009	Adriana PEMOFF
2010	Sergio DARODA
2011	Alfredo OLAZABAL
2012	Aldo FALCO
2013	Carlos Eugenio MARTINEZ

2014 Carlos LUPOTTI