# APCMM Peruvian Association of Hand Surgery and Microsurgery



Foundation of the South American Society of Hand Surgery (December 9, 1965 in Lima, Peru)

The founding members were: Teodoro Henry Ayala (Colombia), Eugenio Elizalde (Peru), Carlos A. N. Firpo (Argentina), Enrique Jenkin (Chile), Edgard Kamel (Venezuela) and Eduardo Zancolli (Argentina)



# Peruvian Asociation of Hand Surgery and Microsurgery

The South American Society of Hand Surgery and Microsurgery was founded on December 9, 1965 in Lima, Peru. Ever since, many surgeons interested in this subspecialty have taken care of thousands of patients in our country and overseas.

Among the foremost surgeons involved in the growth and expansion of hand surgery in our country were doctors Juan José Rodríguez Lazo, Beatriz Barletti Tejada, Joel Garay Espinoza, Franklin Seminario, José Ladines Ropjas, Alberto Figueroa Gutarra, Alfredo Torres, Elsa Castro. Along with other surgeons they sought and applied knowledge in their institutions.



Dr. Alfredo Torres, Dra. Blanca Castillo, Dr. Alberto Figueros

Dra. Elsa Castro, Dr. Juan José Rodríguez, Dra. Beatriz Barletti







Dr. Franklin Seminario.

Dr. Joel Garay.

Dr. José Ladines.

Along several decades these health professionals motivated new generations of surgeons. The numbers of subspecialists in hand surgery increased.

A worldwide interest in hand surgery led to a steady increase in the numbers of specialists. In our country a few attempts were made to establish an organization dedicated to this area. Such attempts did not prosper due to organizational deficiencies.

After significant effort the Peruvian Association of Hand Surgery and Microsurgery was established, on November 13, 2014. This was made possible thanks to the dedication and leadership of Dr. Alberto Figueroa and Dr. Mirko Tello.

At the present time, our association has 32 active members, and 29 honorary members. Three elected Boards of Directors have served so far. Each one had distinct views for our young association. But all shared the common goal of guiding new generations of hand surgeons.



**Newly Associated Young Surgeons** 

# **Scientific history:**

1965 - The South American Society of Hand Surgery is founded on December 9, in Lima, Peru

1978 – First upper limb replantation. Hospital Nacional Guillermo Almenara Irigoyen. Dr. Juan José Rodríguez Lazo

1982 - First hand replantation. Hospital Nacional Guillermo Almenara Irigoyen. Plastic Surgery Service. Dr. Franklin Seminario and Dr. Manuel Paredes

1986 - First finger replantation. Hospital Nacional Guillermo Almenara Irigoyen. Hand Surgery Service

1985 – In the Hospital Nacional Guillermo Almenara Irigoyen the Hand Surgery and Microsurgery Service is established

2005 – The Hand Surgery sub specialization program (fellowship) is created by the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, the Hospital Nacional Guillermo Almenara,



## **Academic events**

2015 – March 15. 1st International Course and Workshop of Hand Surgery and Upper Limb Microsurgery. Professors: Dr Pablo De Carli, Dr. Mario Rodríguez Sanmartino (Argentina), Dr. Fernando Andrade (Chile).

2015 – September 12. 1st. International Session "Brachial Plexus Update". Professor: Dr. Jorge Clifton (Mexico)

2017 – May 25. 2nd International Course of Hand Surgery and Microsurgery. Professors: Dr Pedro Delgado (Spain) and Dr. Jeffrey Yao (USA)

2022 – October 10. National Congress of Hand Surgery. With 17 international professors from Argentina, Spain, Colombia, Brazil, Ecuador, Venezuela, Costa Rica and Guatemala

### PROGRAMA FINAL

### PRIMER CONGRESO NACIONAL DE CIRUGÍA DE MANO Y MICROCIRUGÍA

### Del 13 AL 15 Oct 2022

### Lima - Perú



















### PROGRAMA GENERAL

	P	rimer Congre	so de Gru	gia de Mano	y Microcirug	ia - PERÚ -	Octubre 20	22	
	Jueves 13			Viernes 14			Sabado 15		
Salas	Rodriguez	Barletti	Figueroa	Rodriguez	Barletti	Figueroa	Rodriguez	Barletti	Figueroa
8.00 am	Codo Traumático			Modulo iBRA: Radio Distal	Cirugía Reconstructiva	Curso Terapia Ocupacional	Artroscopía 1	Asamblea APCMM	Curso Terapia Ocupacional
10.30am	Break			Break			Break		
11.00am	Trauma de Antebrazo	Taller Osteosintesis		Modulo iBRA: Mano / Carpo	Reimplantes y Microcirugía	Curso Terapia Ocupacional	Artroscopía 2	Taller Osteosint esis	Curso Terapia Ocupacional
1.00 pm	Almuerzo			Almuerzo				CLAUSURA	
3.00 pm	N.Periferif y Plexo B.	Taller Osteosintesis	Mano Congénita	Lesiones Deportivas	Trabajos Libres	Curso Terapia Ocupacional			
4.30 pm	Break			Break					
6.30 pm	N.Periferif y Taller Avances y Plexo B. Osteosintesis Tecnología INAUGURACIÓN		Miscelanias Miscelanias Simposium Protesis Total en Muñeca		Curso Terapia Ocupacional				













# **Institutional history**

Founded on December 9, 2014.

Admitted to the IFSSH on July 4, 2021.

1st Board of Directors: Dr. Alberto Figueroa (President), Dra. Blanca Castillo, Dr. Jorge Danz, Dra. Adriana Rengifo, Dr. Rolando Quispe.

2nd Board of Directors: Dr. Mirko Tello (President), Dr. Bruno Pietrapiana, Dra. Mariana Pendavis, Dra. Lilian Loayza, Dr. Cesar Reinaga.



}}

3rd Board of Directors Dr. Bruno Pietrapiana (President), Dra. Blanca Castillo, Dr. Álvaro Mena, Dr. Julio Echevarría, Dra. Mariana Pendavis



Dr. Bruno Piegtrapiana and Dr. Mirko Tello

# Our symbol: the crossed hands of Kotosh



Kotosh is an archeological site located in Huanuco, in Central Peru. The temple of the Crossed Hands is a building in the compound. It dates back to 1800 BC. Kotosh was an important link and landmark in Peruvian civilizations.

Our symbol expresses our raison d'etre and carries part of our history. We are humble heirs of the struggles of our teachers and their labors for our patients wellbeing and health.

The crossed hands of Kotosh portray clearly the central object of our specialty. Our symbol is easily recognizable and yet so simple. It carries historical significance and reminds us of our forebearers. It pays homage to great teachers and friends who earned our loyalty and admiration. We feel obliged to follow their footsteps and to search for new solutions for our patients.

# Web Page Apcmm.org



# **Current Peruvian board of directors**



Dr Bruno Pietrapiana



Dra. Blanca Castillo G.



Dr. Julio Echevarria



Dr. Alvaro Mena R



Dra. Mariana Pendaivis