

Message from the Secretary-General

Dear Colleagues,

After our triennial congress in Washington DC adjourned, we feel even more we are living in a changing world. However, the missions of our Federation remain the *same*; our approaches to fulfil our missions are expanding.

The Congress in Washington DC - March 24-28 - brought the scientific standard and breadth of the Congress to a new level owing to leadership of Dr James Chang and his organizing team. This is the second such an event in USA 42 years after the 2nd Congress in Boston—October 16-21,1983—under the leadership of Dr Richard Smith. I extend huge thanks to Jim, his team, the surgical program committee led by Jeffrey Friedrich and Jeffrey Yao, and host societies (American Society for Surgery of the Hand and American Association for Hand Surgery) for enduring efforts for a splendid congress with full cherry blossom in the week of National Cherry Blossom Festival in Washington DC. I hope all had enjoyed fully blooming cherries on streets as well as in the Tidal Basin. I should say to Jim: the program is perfect, social events are perfect, and timing is perfect!! Everybody I have meet at the end voiced satisfaction and expressed gratitude to the hosts. A huge thanks to Jim and team!

In the past three years, we had the largest number of IFSSH sponsored educational projects accepted by the Committee of Educational Sponsorship. The new educational initiative, the IFSSH Mid-Term Course in Hand Surgery, was launched with great success. The IFSSH Patron of Hand Surgery program was launched in 2024, aiming to empower the education of IFSSH in the years to come. IFSSH is very grateful to the delegates and Executive Committee members serving from 2022 to 2025 for their selfless dedication of time, efforts and vision to the ever-growing IFSSH family. Without the dedication and contribution from you, our Federation will not be able to grow.

A personal note to IFSSH members and member societies, it has been a great pleasure to work with you in my past 6 years in the Executive Committee. I look forward to hearing from you and working with you about any matters especially the need in your countries/regions and your valuable suggestions for better function of our Federation.

Prof Jin Bo Tang

Secretary-General, IFSSH

2025 IFSSH Pioneers of Hand Surgery

The IFSSH honoured 41 Pioneers of Hand Surgery at the Opening Ceremony in Washington, D.C.. We pass our thanks to these hand surgeons for their national and international contributions to hand surgery, and the inspiration that they continue to provide to future generations of hand surgeons.

Hüseyin Bayram Turkish Hand Society Moroe Beppu

Japanese Society for Surgery of the Hand

Richard A. Berger

American Society for Surgery of the Hand

American Association for Hand Surgery

Rolfe Birch

British Society for Surgery of the Hand

Hugo F. Caloia

Argentina Association for Surgery of the Hand

Alain Carlier

Belgian Hand Group

Massimo Ceruso

Italian Society for Surgery of the Hand

Rodolfo Cosentino

Argentina Association for Surgery of the Hand

Miguel Cuadros Romero

Spanish Society for Surgery of the Hand

Luc De Smet

Belgian Hand Group

Rui Ferreira

Brazilian Society for Surgery of the Hand

Alberto Garay

Argentina Association for Surgery of the Hand

Julien Glicenstein

French Society for Surgery of the Hand

Graham J. Gumley

Australian Hand Surgery Society

Vincent R. Hentz

American Society for Surgery of the Hand

Steven Hovius

The Netherlands Society for Surgery of the Hand

Leung Kim Hung

Hong Kong Society for Surgery of the Hand

Fuminori Kanaya

Japanese Society for Surgery of the Hand

Hermann Krimmer

German Society for Hand Surgery

Sridhar Krishnamurthy

Indian Society for Surgery of the Hand

Donald Lalonde

Canadian Society for Surgery of the Hand

Antonio Landi

Italian Society for Surgery of the Hand

Terry Light

American Society for Surgery of the Hand

Riccardo Luchetti

Italian Society for Surgery of the Hand

Pedro Marquina Sola

Spanish Society for Surgery of the Hand

József Nyárády

Hungarian Society for Surgery of the Hand

Naoyuki Ochiai

Japanese Society for Surgery of the Hand

Alfredo Edgardo Olazabal

Argentina Association for Surgery of the Hand

Turker Ozkan

Turkish Hand Society

Adriana Beatriz Pemoff

Argentina Association for Surgery of the Hand

Guy Raimbeau

French Society for Surgery of the Hand

Mario Rodriguez Sammartino

Argentina Association for Surgery of the Hand

Jose Maria Rotella

Argentina Association for Surgery of the Hand

Luis Scheker

Dominican Republic Society for Surgery of the Hand

Minoru Shibata

Japanese Society for Surgery of the Hand

Paul Smith

British Society for Surgery of the Hand

Paupan Songcharoen

Thai Society for Surgery of the Hand

Somprasong Songcharoen

Thai Society for Surgery of the Hand

Satoshi Toh

Japanese Society for Surgery of the Hand

Ian Trail

British Society for Surgery of the Hand

Eduardo Rafael Zancolli

Argentina Association for Surgery of the Hand

Further information is available about the Pioneers on the <u>IFSSH website</u>. The 2025 booklet is accessible through this webpage and includes a biography of each recipient.

2025 IFSSH Delegates' Council Meeting

The annual IFSSH Delegates' Council Meeting was held during the 2025 IFSSH-IFSHT Congress. We had excellent attendance, with 54 of our 64 member societies represented. We thank all delegates (and nominated proxies) for taking the time away from Congress sessions to join us and provide input into the future activities of the IFSSH.

We welcome the Jordanian Group for Hand and Upper Limb Surgery to IFSSH membership. This increases the IFSSH membership to 65 societies from 63 countries, with more societies currently corresponding about membership applications too.

We congratulate the Italian Society on winning the rights to host the 2nd IFSSH Mid-Term Course in Hand Surgery, and the Brazilian Society for their successful bid to host the 2031 IFSSH-IFSHT Congress.

The end of the IFSSH triennium also means the 2022-2025 Executive Committee and Nominating Committee terms came to a close. The 2025-2028 Committees were elected as follows:

Executive Committee

President: S. Raja Sabapathy, India (automatic succession)

President Elect: David Warwick, United Kingdom (automatic succession)

Immediate Past President: Daniel Nagle, USA (automatic succession)

Secretary-General: Jin Bo Tang, China

Communications Director: Aida Garcia Gomez, Colombia

Members-at-Large:

Asia-Pacific: Satoshi Ichihara, Japan Europe/Africa: Ilse Degreef, Belgium

Europe/Africa: Jonathan Hobby, United Kingdom

North/Central America: Steven Moran, USA South America: Fidel Cayon, Ecuador

Nominating Committee

Immediate Past President:Daniel Nagle, USA (Chair)Past President:Marc Garcia-Elias, SpainPresident:S. Raja Sabapathy, IndiaMember-at-Large:Roland Hicks, AustraliaMember-at-Large:Nash Naam, Egypt

We look forward to working with the new Committees.

A full report of the IFSSH Delegates' Council will be made available on the IFSSH website: www.ifssh.info.

Future Meetings

A detailed list of national and regional hand surgery meetings is available on the IFSSH website. The triennial IFSSH Congresses are as follows:

17th IFSSH – 14th IFSHT Congress Singapore 23rd – 27th October, 2028



18th **IFSSH – 15**th **IFSHT Congress** Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

2031 (dates TBC)

Email: administration@ifssh.info

Web: www.ifssh.info

X/Instagram: @IFSSHand